Kelly Wins Baggataway Cup with 3-peat Mustangs


The Colorado Mammoth ended the 2018 regular-season last April with an 11-7 record; a two-win improvement from the season prior. 

And Mammoth players didn't stop there, continuing to play and to win throughout the offseason. Jeremy Noble and Dillon Ward took home Silver with Team Canada at the FIL World Championships; Robert Hope hoisted the Mann Cup for a second-straight year with the Peterborough Century 21 Lakers, Josh Sullivan and recently-signed Mike Triolo won the President's Cup with the St. Albert Miners, and, just yesterday, Rowan Kelly led his Western University Mustangs team to their third-straight Baggataway Cup victory.

Sunday afternoon, Kelly, who is currently a fourth-year midfielder at Western University, scored three goals, including the final tally in regulation, forcing the Mustangs and Brock University Badgers into overtime where the Mustangs cemented a 9-8 win.

Sunday marked the sixth national title win since 1985 for the Mustangs lacrosse organization. Ironically, the only team that has won more national titles in the Canadian University Field Lacrosse Association is the Brock Badgers, who are 18-time Baggataway Cup champions. Shawn Williams, the Mammoth's new Offensive Coordinator, won four of those championships with the Badgers as a player and then won two more as a BU coach. Williams, a five-time MVP was inducted into the Badgers Hall of Fame on June 9, 2009.