Very good question, tough situation no question.
Very simply, you can't bat the ball into the net, it must be picked up and in your stick and thrown in the net. As Chairman of the Competition Committee, I was a part of the group that wrote the rule with a number of other members of the Committee. It was done to clean up the crease nonsense, and for the last two seasons and a bit, it has been effective. You cannot poke or bat the ball in the net.
Rule #55.11, If the ball is loose in the crease, a player may NOT direct the ball into the goal. If the ball is loose in the crease, an opposing player must have possession. A no goal shall be called if the ball is loose in the crease, directed by an opposing player and having the ball make contact with the goalie or a defender prior to the ball going into the net.
I saw Conway bat the ball in the net and immediately grabbed the flag to decide, the bottom line is I know the rule and had to make a 10 second decision on whether it would matter or not. It was called a no goal and would have to be refuted by video showing that Conway secured possession and threw it in the net.
Its difficult when much of the fan base doesn't know the rule, and wants me to react to something I know was called correctly, especially when a player doesn't know the rule and is gesturing to throw the flag.
What makes it worse is that the opposing team goes down and scores immediately after that on their next possession. Should I have thrown the flag to stop momentum, or slow the game down, sure I could have done that but hindsight is always perfect. We would have lost the challenge no question. And lost the timeout for the critical comeback that I thought was always coming.