2014 Season Tickets

Hamley's '93 Bandits Team Named Hall of Fame Finalist

The National Lacrosse League announced today that the 1993 Buffalo Bandits, which current Colorado Mammoth head coach Bob Hamley played for, has been named a finalist for the NLL Hall of Fame Class of 2012. The ’93 Bandits still stand as the only team in league history to go undefeated, and are the first team to ever be nominated.

“Wow! That’s pretty cool,” said Hamley, upon hearing the news of the nomination. “It was a ‘who’s who’ of players on that team…it was full of great lacrosse players. I was just proud to be a part of it.”

The Bandits’ championship-game victory was the team’s 18th straight win dating back to the 1992 season, a streak that extended into 1994 and still stands as the NLL’s all-time record for consecutive games without a loss.

Joining the Bandits on the ballot are former Mammoth defenseman Pat Coyle, Steve Dietrich, Chris Driscoll, Curt Malawsky and Regy Thorpe. Voting will commence this week, with ballots to be cast by teams, current members of the NLL Hall of Fame, and senior members of the league’s covering media.

Voters may select up to three of the six nominees on the ballot. To win induction into the Hall of Fame, nominees must first be selected on a minimum of 75 percent of the ballots cast.  Of those receiving the necessary votes, the top two vote-getters win induction. In 2011, Toronto Rock goaltender Bob Watson was the only nominee to earn the nod, having been selected on 86 percent of the ballots. The winner(s) will be announced next week.

The nominees were selected by the league’s Hall of Fame Committee. The committee considered all of the individuals (and the ’93 Bandits team) that were suggested by fans over the past month via the league’s Facebook page.

Mammoth Newsletter Signup