2014 Season Tickets

Govett Named ILIndoor's GM of the Year

Courtesy of ILIndoor.com
by Bob Chavez

The Colorado Mammoth regularly have the best crowds in the National Lacrosse League. But whether there are 150 fans or 15,000 fans, the Mammoth have a duty to them. They’re the ones who buy the tickets and swag. So when the Mammoth put forth a 5-11 record in 2011, on the heels of a 4-12 mark the season before, patience was running thin. Enter Steve Govett, the team’s general manager, and the way he moved things around heading into the 2012 season, it was clear that enough was enough. The GM who played the game crafted deals and trades to make the Mammoth better and it’s difficult to argue with the results. So when the dust settled on the 2012 regular season and the Mammoth were standing with an 11-5 record, the proof was there. And that’s why Steve Govett is ILIndoor’s General Manager of the Year.

John Grant Jr., Gavin Prout, John Orsen, Sean Pollock, Jon Sullivan, Rory Smith, Adam Jones, Dan Coates, Jamie Lincoln and Creighton Reid. Grant and Prout were with the Mammoth in 2011, but the rest of those names, along with a few others, were new to the team for 2012.

The result was a chemistry experiment that produced the most wins for the Mammoth since their 12-4 season of 2007. And it returned the franchise to better than .500 for the first time since the 2008 team that went 9-7. Most important, it brought the Mammoth back into the conversation of the NLL’s elite. Questions were plenty heading into the season because it was not known how this new group would work together.

But 6 straight wins to open the season answered the questions, and more. The offense improved from a league-worst 151 goals in 2011 to a league-best 217 goals in 2012. The defense gave up a bit more than it had in 2011, but so did 8 of the 9 teams in the NLL, thanks to some new rules to encourage scoring.

The Mammoth may have tripped a bit down the stretch and the first-round playoff exit wasn’t what the team or its fans expected. But when you have the league’s MVP in Grant and the Rookie of the Year in Jones, it’s obvious the strings Govett is pulling are the right strings. Govett did his homework and the faith he put in the players he named to roster paid off. But perhaps best of all, so many of these new sticks in the lineup are young, setting up a bright future in Colorado.

Voting breakdown

Steve Govett, Colorado: 61 points (5 first-place votes)
John Arlotta, Minnesota: 47 points (1)
Johnny Mouradian, Philadelphia: 27 points
Mike Board, Calgary: 26 points (1)
Derek Keenan, Edmonton: 22 points (1)
Also receiving votes: Curt Styres, Terry Sanderson, Darris Kilgour

Voting done by ILIndoor.com staffers Bob Chavez, Stephen Stamp, Ty Pilson, Graeme Perrow, Brian Shanahan, Teddy Jenner, Casey Vock and Marty O’Neill.

Mammoth Newsletter Signup